Second Group Of Top 40 Players Announced

Second Group Of Top 40 Players Announced

Note: Pictured are Ashley Huntey (left) and Brittny Godlewski (right)

Big Rapids, Mich. - Four athletes from the past decade, including recent graduate All-American Ashley Huntey (Stanwood/Morley-Stanwood), highlight the second group of 10 standouts announced as part of Ferris State Volleyball's "Top 40 Players Of The First 40 Years".

Ferris State will celebrate its 40th season of intercollegiate volleyball competition this fall and kickoff the campaign with a special "40th Anniversary Celebration" banquet on Friday, Aug. 10, at CK's Place near Big Rapids.  The event begins with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. (ET) followed by dinner and the banquet program at 6:30 p.m. (ET).

As part of commemorating the 40th anniversary, an all-time team recognizing the "Top 40 Bulldog Volleyball Players Of The First 40 years" is being announced over the course of the next few weeks leading up to the Aug. 10 event.  Each group of 10 honorees will be unveiled via a press release at and will be recognized at the celebration banquet.

The 40 players named to the all-time team were chosen by a special committee consisting of former Bulldog head coaches, who include Marilyn Clark (1973-74), Monica Folske (1975-79), Kathy DeBoer (1980-83) and Jill Hirschinger (1984-95) along with current FSU head coach Tia Brandel-Wilhelm (1996-present).

Together, the five head coaches have led the Bulldogs to 32 winning seasons, 16 NCAA Tournament appearances and 10 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Championships.  FSU has compiled an all-time record of 819-452 (65%) since the program's inception in 1973.

"This is a tremendous opportunity to celebrate one of the outstanding programs in the country," said Brandel-Wilhelm.  "There have been many great student-athletes who've helped this program achieve success over the years and it was extremely difficult to narrow it down to these 40 individuals.  They are all truly noteworthy players."

In addition to Huntey, the second group of 10 honorees also includes three other standouts who have taken the floor in the past decade, including former All-American Arielle Goodson, setter Ashley Huntey and libero Brittny Godlewski.

The remaining members of the all-time team will be announced periodically thru Aug. 10 with 10 named each week based on alphabetical order.  

For more information on the "40th Anniversary Celebration" banquet, please contact Athletics Advancement Officer William Goode at (231) 591-3818 or via email at

Listed below are the second 10 (G-L) named to the All-Time Team
along with a few notes on their career accomplishments:

1. Brittny Godlewski (2002-05) - Libero
Four-Time All-GLIAC, Three-Time All-Region, Three-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, Team MVP

2. Arielle Goodson
(2007-10) - Middle Hitter
All-American, Three-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region, Team MVP, GLIAC All-Tourney

3. Ashley Green
(2001-04) - Setter
Three-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region, Two-Time Team MVP, Three-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, GLIAC All-Tourney Team

4. Lisa Haan (1988-91) - Middle Hitter
All-GLIAC, GLIAC Player of the Year, All-Region

5. Sheri Maus-Edstrom (1987-88, 1996-98) - Outside Hitter
Two-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region, Team MVP, GLIAC All-Tourney Team

6. Tracie Henne (1990-93) - Outside Hitter
All-GLIAC, Team Most Valuable Player

7. Ashley Huntey (2008-11) - Outside Hitter
All-American, Three-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region, Three-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team

8. Kris Johnson (1982-85) - Outside Hitter
Academic All-American, Two-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, Team MVP

9. Jamie Kowalkowski (1995-98) - Middle Hitter
Three-Time All-GLIAC, All-Region, GLIAC All-Academic Team

10. Dawn Lowe (1984-87) - Setter
Academic All-American, Three-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, All-GLIAC

Top 40 Players Of First 40 Years Release Schedule:
July 20 - A-G
July 28 - G-L
Aug. 5 - L-R
Aug. 8 - S-Z