2010 Ferris State Volleyball Awards Presented At Banquet

Arielle Goodson was named the Most Valuable Player at the 2010 team's awards banquet Friday evening.  (Photo by Ben Amato)
Arielle Goodson was named the Most Valuable Player at the 2010 team's awards banquet Friday evening. (Photo by Ben Amato)

The Ferris State University women's volleyball team officially wrapped up its 2010 season Friday (Dec. 10) evening by holding the program's annual postseason awards banquet at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Auditorium in Big Rapids, Mich.

Ferris State, under 15th-year head coach Tia Brandel-Wilhelm, produced its 13th consecutive winning season this fall as the Bulldogs compiled an 18-10 overall record while also making their 13th straight Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Tournament appearance. 

The Most Valuable Player Award was bestowed upon senior middle hitter Arielle Goodson (Grand Rapids/Central), who was recently earned second-team All-America plaudits by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA).  Goodson, a two-time (2009 and 2010) AVCA All-Midwest Region honoree, claimed GLIAC First-Team accolades in each of the past two (2009 and 2010) seasons.  The 6-2 Goodson produced a career season-best 428 kills and averaged 4.04 kills per set while hitting for a career single-season high .296 percentage in 27 matches.  The 2010 Daktronics, Inc. All-Midwest Region pick recorded 97 total blocks for the 2010 campaign, which included 27 block solos, to go along with a career season-best 30 service aces.  A two-time (Oct. 11 and 25) GLIAC North Division Player of the Week Award winner, Goodson completed her four-year (2007-10) career ranking third among the Ferris State's all-time leaders in block solos (108), ninth in total blocks (399), 12th in kills (1,212), 13th in attack percentage (.248), and 15th in block assists (291).   

A pair of liberos, senior Dana Ruttle (Reed City) and junior Lisa Tobiczyk (Marysville) were chosen as the recipients of the program's Bulldog Award, which recognizes a team member(s) who displays the heart and desire of a Bulldog.  Ruttle turned in her most productive season with career highs in digs (211), digs per set (1.95), service aces (31), service aces per set (0.29), and assists (17) in 28 contests.  The 5-7 Ruttle, a tri-winner of the 2009 team's Bulldog Award, concluded her career with 552 digs while averaging 1.77 digs and serving up 77 aces in 96 outings.  Tobiczyk, a 2010 All-GLIAC Second-Team performer, chalked up a career single-season high and squad-best 474 digs in 28 contests this season for a 4.35 digs per average a set.  The 5-8 Tobiczyk also compiled a team-best tying 31 aces and set up 55 assists for the 2010 campaign.  She presently ranks eighth on FSU's all-time leaders chart with 1,256 career digs and has garnered a 28th-place 102 service aces in 88 matches. 

Middle hitter Angi Kent (Lansing/Waverly) was named as the Most Improved Player Award recipient.  The 6-2 redshirt freshman tallied three kills and registered three block assists while averaging 0.38 points per set in nine appearances.      

The Coaches Award was presented to freshman Kara Hess (Grand Rapids/Grandville).  The 5-11 outside hitter totaled four kills, eight digs, and one total block (block assist) in five encounters this campaign. 

Three seniors - Arielle Goodson, middle hitter Danielle Hamilton (Galesburg/Galesburg-Augusta), and Dana Ruttle were all presented with a Senior Award.  The trio helped Ferris State post a 73-45 record (.619 winning percentage) during their four-year (2007-10) playing careers.  Arielle Goodson along with Dana Ruttle, Lisa Tobiczyk, and sophomore setter Samantha Fordyce (DeWitt) received 2010 Captains pins. 

2010 Ferris State Women's Volleyball Team Award Recipients:
Most Valuable Player - Arielle Goodson
Most Improved Player - Angi Kent
Bulldog Award - Dana Ruttle and Lisa Tobiczyk
Coaches Award - Kara Hess
Senior Award - Arielle Goodson, Danielle Hamilton, and Dana Ruttle