Four Bulldogs Headed To NCAA Indoor Meet

Four Bulldogs Headed To NCAA Indoor Meet

Big Rapids, Mich. - A total of four Ferris State University women's indoor track and field student-athletes will compete in the 2012 NCAA Division II National Indoor Championships next week as the official selections have been announced by the NCAA.

The 2012 NCAA-II Championships will take place Friday and Saturday, March 9-10, in Mankato, Minn.  The host institution is Minnesota State-Mankato and action will take place inside the Myers Field House.

Bulldog senior standout Tina Muir has earned a national entry in the women's 5,000 meters. She is seeded fourth overall of 13 runners with a top time of 16:31.21.  The event takes place on March 10 at 6:05 p.m. (CT).

Additionally, Muir also joins a trio of juniors in Shelby Janutol, Alyssa Osika and Zoey Hohmann as members of FSU's distance medley relay team that received a national bid.  The quartet is ranked seventh of 11 qualifying teams with a performance of 11:48.65 in the event.  It will be ran on March 9 at 7:25 p.m. (CT).

FSU's distance medley relay team came in third overall while meeting the national qualifying standard at the 2012 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Indoor Championships last week (Feb. 24-25) in Findlay, Ohio. Their efforts helped FSU to a ninth-place team finish in the meet.

The Bulldog women's indoor track and field team was listed as high as 22nd nationally this season in the United States Track and Field/Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Division II National Rankings.  They are currently listed eighth in the NCAA-II Miwest Regional listing.

Myers Fieldhouse on the campus of Minnesota State-Mankato opened in 2001 and is a multi-purpose facility that boasts an eight-lane NCAA-sanctioned track with accomodations for 1,000 spectators.

More than 500 participants (including student-athletes, coaches and administrators) from around the country are expected to visit Mankato for the event. 

For more information on the NCAA-II Championships, please visit this link: