Ferris State Women's Golf To Tee Off At 2011 GLIAC Championships This Weekend

Ferris State Women's Golf To Tee Off At 2011 GLIAC Championships This Weekend

The Ferris State University women's golf team will be on a quest to win a conference championship title this weekend (April 22-23) as the Bulldogs compete in the 2011 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Women's Golf Championships to be played at The Country Club of Ashland in Ashland, Ohio.

The opening two rounds of the GLIAC Championships, which are being hosted by Ashland University, will be held this Friday (April 22) on the par 72, 5,562-yard The Country Club of Ashland course.  The tourney gets underway at 8:30 a.m. (EDT) with simutaneous teeoffs on both the first and 10th holes.  Continuous play for the 36 holes is scheduled for Friday's action.  The final round on Saturday (April 23) will also commence at 8:30 a.m. (EDT) with action beginning on the first and 10th tees at the same time.

Besides Ferris State, the 2011 GLIAC Championships field includes Ashland, Findlay, Grand Valley State, Lake Erie, Lake Superior State, Northwood, and Tiffin.            

Ferris State posted a third-place finish in the six-team 2010 GLIAC Championships (April 24) held at FSU's Katke Golf Course in Big Rapids, Mich.  The Bulldogs carded a two-round 628 team stroke total (314-314=628, +52) in the rain-shortened tournament as Grand Valley State was crowned conference champions as a result of firing a 594 team score (+18).

Live scoring will be available through Golfstat at www.golfstat.com.

The FSU women's golf program has presently won three GLIAC Championships (2001-02, 2005-06, and 2006-07) with the most recent occurring in 2007 (April 20-21) with a first-place 928 (+64) three-round score at the Lake View Country Club in North East, Pa. 

This 2010-11 season, the Bulldogs have currently placed among the top 10 in seven of their eight tournaments to date.  Ferris State, under the direction of fourth-year head coach Michael Mignano, has claimed two tournament championship titles this season - at Lake Superior State Invitational (Sept. 11-12) and at Ohio Dominican Give 18 Fore Cancer Classic (April 2-3).