Jason Binkley Attains FSU Hockey Scholar-Athlete Of The Year Honor

Jason Binkley Attains FSU Hockey Scholar-Athlete Of The Year Honor

Big Rapids, Mich. - Ferris State University sophomore defenseman Jason Binkley (Powell, Ohio) was honored today (March 11) as the Bulldogs' 2012-13 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year nominee.

Eleven outstanding student-athletes were designated as their team's respective award nominee.  The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be chosen from the group of nominees with the winner announced at the 2013 CCHA Awards Show on Friday, March 22, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

The faculty athletic representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  Each school's Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school's nominee for the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to be eligible for the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which is selected by the 11 faculty athletic representatives.  Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote. 

Along with his academic accomplishments, Binkley has also played a key role in the Bulldogs' success this season as FSU enters its best-of-three CCHA Second Round playoff series at Ohio State this weekend (March 15-17).  He's tallied a team-high 17 assists to go with two goals for 19 total points while playing all 34 games in his second collegiate campaign.

Currently, Binkley ranks tied for second among all CCHA defensemen in scoring as he's averaging 0.61 points per game in 28 conference contests.  He also has produced a squad-high 45 blocks to date this year.

Last season, Ferris State captain Chad Billins was tabbed as the Bulldogs' award nominee and went on to become the first Bulldog skater ever to claim the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

The 2013 CCHA Awards will be held on Friday, March 22 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.  The event is open to the public and  tickets are $25.  The evening begins with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. (ET), followed by the Awards Show at 7:35 p.m. Tickets may be purchased at the door or by calling the CCHA office at (248) 888-0600. 

The 2013 CCHA Championship is March 23-24 at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.  Visit CCHA.com for tickets and more information.

2012-13 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees
Name Cl. Position Team Major
Adam Henderson Sr. Forward Alaska Master's Business Administration
Ryan Carpenter So. Forward Bowling Green Accounting
Jason Binkley So. Defenseman Ferris State Business Administration
Kevin Kapalka Jr. Goaltender Lake Superior Finance and Economics
Steven Spinell Sr. Defenseman Miami Finance
Luke Moffatt Jr. Forward Michigan Business
Greg Wolfe Jr. Forward Michigan State Supply Chain Management
Kory Kaunisto Sr. Forward Northern Michigan Finance
Peter Schneider So. Forward Notre Dame Economics/Business
Max McCormick So. Forward Ohio State Finance
Chase Balisy Jr. Forward Western Michigan Finance

Previous CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Winners
2011-12 - Chad Billins, SR, D, Ferris State
2010-11 - Carter Camper, SR, F, Miami
2009-10 - Dion Knelsen, SR, F, Alaska
2008-09 - Jordan Pearce, SR, G, Notre Dame
2007-08 - Jeff Lerg, JR, G, Michigan State
2006-07 - Michael Eickman, SR, D, Nebraska-Omaha
2005-06 - Michael Eickman, JR, D, Nebraska-Omaha
2004-05 - Cory McLean, SR, F, Notre Dame
Prior to the 2004-05 season, the conference selected an All-Academic Team.