Bulldog Hockey Earns NCAA Tourney Bid!

Bulldog Hockey Earns NCAA Tourney Bid!

Official NCAA Announcement (PDF)
Official NCAA Tournament Bracket (PDF)
Official NCAA Interactive Bracket
Gameday Central
ESPN Video Announcement 
Media Coverage (Coming Soon)

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University men's ice hockey team received the program's second-ever NCAA Division I Tournament berth on Sunday (March 18) as the official announcement of this year's 16-team championship field was made during the NCAA Selection Show on ESPNU.

The Bulldogs are seeded second in the Midwest Regional and will face third-seeded Denver on Friday, March 23, at the Resch Center in Green Bay, Wis.  Opening faceoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. (ET).

The other matchup in the Midwest Regional will feature top-seeded Michigan versus fourth-seeded Cornell at 9 p.m. (ET) with the winner of each game slated to square off in the regional final with a berth in the 2012 Frozen Four on the line Saturday (March 24) at 9 p.m.

More information regarding tickets will be announced as soon as details are available.  The regional will be hosted by Michigan Tech University.

Ferris State's NCAA Tournament opener versus Denver will be  televised live via webcast on ESPN3 and also available on a tape-delay basis at 11:30 p.m. (ET) on Friday night on ESPNU. 

The Bulldogs learned their fate and the news of the NCAA Tournament selection during a live selection show event with a large crowd of supporters and fans on hand at The Gate in Big Rapids.

Ferris, which claimed its second-ever Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) Regular-Season Championship title this season, presently sports a s23-11-5 overall mark while the Western Collegiate Hockey Association's (WCHA) Denver Pioneers are 25-13-4 overall this season.

FSU will be making its first NCAA Tournament appearance since the 2002-03 campaign when the Bulldogs defeated North Dakota in its regional opener before bowing out in the Elite Eight with a loss to Minnesota in the West Regional at St. Paul, Minn.

The Bulldogs are one of five CCHA schools to make the NCAA Tournament along with Michigan, Michigan State, Western Michigan and Miami (Ohio).

The other regional sites for the 2012 NCAA Tournament are as follows: East (March 23-24) at the Webster Bank Arena at Harbor Yard in Bridgeport, Conn; West (March 24-25) at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn.; and the Northeast (March 24-25) at the DCU Center in Worcester, Mass. 

The winners of each region will advance to the 2012 NCAA Frozen Four with the semifinals and the championship game to be held Thursday, April 7, and Saturday, April 7, respectively, at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Fla.