FSU's Billins & Nelson Hobey Baker Nominees

FSU's Billins & Nelson Hobey Baker Nominees

Learn More About Billins and Nelson 

Vote Here!

Big Rapids, Mich. - Fan Balloting has opened for the 2012 Hobey Baker Memorial Award and the Ferris State University men's ice hockey team has two seniors on the list of nominees for the prestigious award.

Bulldog fans are encouraged to vote early and often for senior captain and defenseman Chad Billins (Marysville) along with senior goalie Taylor Nelson (Regina, Saskatchewan).

Billins and Nelson are among 77 college hockey players this season vying for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate men's ice hockey player who emulates the exceptional character traits by the award's namesake. Candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game.

To vote, please visit the Hobey Baker website at www.hobeybakeraward.com.  Click on the"Vote for Hobey Baker" icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year's outstanding crop of college hockey players.  Bulldog hockey fans are encouraged to visit www.hobeybakeraward.com to vote for Billins and Nelson as often as possible.

The first phase of balloting, which runs through this March 4, will be determined by fan balloting along with ballots submitted by all 58 Division I college hockey coaches to determine the Top Ten finalists for the 2012 Hobey Baker Award. 

Phase two of the fan balloting will commence March 15 from the list of the Top Ten Hobey Baker Award finalists.  The fans' vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Key Hobey Baker Award announcement dates for 2012 include:

* Top Ten list of candidates: March 15

* Hobey Baker Hat Trick three finalists:  March 29

* Hobey Baker Award winner: April 6