Aaron Lewicki Receives Swears Courage Award

Aaron Lewicki Receives Swears Courage Award

Junior Aaron Lewicki (Livonia), a member of the 2008-09 Ferris State University men's ice hockey team has been named the Jimmy Swears Courage Award recipient for the 2008-09 athletics season.

Lewicki, a two-time (2007-08 and 2008-09) Ferris State Central Collegiate Hockey Association's (CCHA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year representative, has had to cope with the loss of his mother (Sue) since his time as a FSU student-athlete. Despite the personal loss, Lewicki has continued to excel both on the ice and in the classroom.

The Ferris State Athletics Department's Jimmy Swears Courage Award is presented to a deserving student or current personnel within the Bulldog Athletics program who, when confronted with a life-altering situation, has used perseverance, dedication and determination to overcome the odds. Nominees are an inspiration to their peers, serve as a role model to others and be a team leader while responding to adversity. Those individuals nominated for the award must be involved within the Bulldog intercollegiate athletics program and possibly include student-athletes, student managers, student coaches and/or student athletic trainers in addition to current athletics department personnel.

The award is named to honor longtime FSU Athletics booster Jim Swears, who passed away Jan. 17, 2007 at the age of 64 following a lengthy bout with cancer. A local businessman and community activist, Swears was a strong supporter of Ferris State hockey, football and basketball. He worked diligently to help develop and maintain FSU's status as a NCAA Division I men's ice hockey program. Additionally, Swears served on the board of directors for the Big Rapids Area Junior Hockey Association and was an active member of the Michigan Automobile Dealers Association. He was the 2006 recipient of the Northern Lights Lifetime Achievement Award for business and industry in the Big Rapids area.

Lewicki turned in his most productive season at Ferris State in the 2008-09 campaign as a result of registering a team third-highest and career single-season best 20 points. The 6-0, 192-pound center also notched career season highs in both goals (10) and assists (10) in 37 contests. His 10 lamplighters this campaign tied for the team lead, which included a pair of game-winning markers. He garnered at least a point in 16 outings this season and had four multiple-point game performances.

In 108 career games to date, Lewicki has chalked up 48 points on 23 goals with 25 assists. He has produced two power-play goals, one short-handed marker, and five game-winning tallies during his three-year (2006-09) collegiate career.

Lewicki has been honored as both the team's Scholar-Athlete Award recipient and FSU President's Academic Award winner each of the last two seasons (2007-08 and 2008-09) for having the squad's highest grade point average.

Lewicki is not only the second-ever recipient of the Jimmy Swears Courage Award, but also the second Bulldog hockey student-athlete to be selected.

Jimmy Swears Courage Award Recipients
2008-09 - Aaron Lewicki (Men's Ice Hockey)
2007-08 - No recipient
2006-07 - Mark Bomersback (Men's Ice Hockey)