Cody Chupp Selected A Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Cody Chupp Selected A Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Ferris State University's Cody Chupp (Big Rapids) has been selected as a finalist for the 2009-10 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award for men's ice hockey in an announcement made on Thursday (Feb. 4).

Chupp, a senior forward, is presently midst his second season (2008-09 and 2009-10) serving as the Bulldog men's ice hockey team captain.  He currently ranks second among Ferris State's top points leaders this season with 24 points on seven goals and 17 assists in 26 contests.  Chupp also has recorded a team-leading plus 12 efficiency rating while netting five power-play goals and a game winner to date this 2009-10 campaign.  

In 135 career games, Chupp has racked up 89 career points on 33 goals with 56 assists.  He also has tallied 15 power-play goals, two short-handed lamplighters, and seven game-winning markers during his collegiate career. The 6-1, 192-pound forward currently is tied for 39th among Ferris State's all-time leaders in assists while ranking in a 45th-place tie in goals scored.  

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as a NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence -classroom, character, community and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in SchoolTM, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 20 candidates who were announced in October.

The 2009-10 finalists are: Jean-Marc Beaudoin, Quinnipiac University; Cody Chupp, Ferris State University; Matt Fairchild, United States Air Force Academy; Colin Greening, Cornell University; Dion Knelsen, University of Alaska; Martin Nolet, University of Massachusetts; Garrett Raboin, St. Cloud State University; Rhett Rakhshani, University of Denver; Dan Ringwald, Rochester Institute of Technology; and Eli Vlaisavljevich, Michigan Technological University. 

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award hockey ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding March 16. Fan balloting is available on the award's official Web site,, as well as through text messaging. Fans can text HOCKEY to 74567 to vote for the finalists. These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award. Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS AwardTM winner this April at the 2010 NCAA Men's Frozen Four® in Detroit, Mich.

"The hockey finalists have spent almost four years perfecting their game on the ice," said Tom Lamb, Lowe's senior vice president of marketing. "We commend their pursuit of perfection in the rink but also their emphasis on getting a college degree and preparing for life after their senior year."

This marks the fourth year for the ice hockey division of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Michigan State University goaltender Jeff Lerg received the award for the 2008-09 season and Princeton University center Landis Stankievech took home the 2007-08 honor. In 2006-07, University of Notre Dame goaltender David Brown won the inaugural men's hockey award.

Chupp has played a pivotal role this season in helping Ferris State to a current 17-8-3 overall record, which includes a third-place 11-6-3-3 Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) mark.  FSU is presently ranked 11th in two national collegiate hockey polls and 12th place in a third poll this week.