Ferris State Hockey To Make CBS College Sports TV Appearances

Ferris State Hockey To Make CBS College Sports TV Appearances

The nationally-ranked Ferris State University men's ice hockey team will be featured on national television this weekend (Jan. 22-23) as both games of the Bulldogs' home-and-home Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) series against the Michigan Wolverines will be aired by CBS College Sports.

This Friday's (Jan. 22) series opener will take place at UM's Yost Ice Arena in Ann Arbor, Mich., with the puck scheduled to drop at 8:05 p.m. (EST).  The two in-state teams will then square off again this Saturday (Jan. 23) at FSU's Ewigleben Ice Arena in Big Rapids, Mich.  Opening faceoff for the weekend series finale is slated for 8:06 p.m. (EST).  For Bulldog hockey home game ticket information, please call (231) 591-2888. 

Matt Shepard will be calling the action with Dave Starman serving as the color analyst.

CBS College Sports, a multimedia network and the first dedicated exclusively to college sports 24 hours a day, is available on selected cable systems across the country along with DirecTV (channel 613) and Dish Network (channel 152). 

Ferris State presently has registered a 16-6-2 overall record with a third-place 10-4-2-2 CCHA mark (34 league points).  The Bulldogs, under 18th-year head coach Bob Daniels, are ranked eighth in the nation this week (Jan. 18) by U.S. College Hockey Online.com while FSU is ninth in the USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine poll and 12th in Inside College Hockey.com's poll. 

Michigan is 13-10-1 overall and currently tied for sixth place in the CCHA standings with an 8-7-1-0 league mark.  UM head coach Red Berenson's team is unbeaten in their last five contests at 4-0-1.

Ferris State appeared on CBS College Sports last season in its 2008-09 regular-season finale contest at Michigan (Feb. 28).  CBS College Sports will be making its second appearance at FSU this Saturday (Jan. 23) after previously televising the 2007-08 Bulldog hockey team's home encounter versus Northern Michigan on Jan. 19, 2008.