Ferris State Football Major Postseason Awards

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University football program and head coach Tony Annese announced the creation of four major postseason awards following the 2012 season.

The "Butch Jones" Coaches Award winner is presented annually to a student-athlete who serves as an extra "coach" on the field.  The award is named for Bulldog alum and current Tennessee head coach Butch Jones. 

The "Bob Leach" Leadership Award is named for former Ferris State head coach Bob Leach, who coached the school's unbeaten 1968 squad.  It is presented to an individual who displays strong skills in being a leader.

The "Mr. Bulldog Award" is given to a player who displays outstanding qualities along with heart and dedication to the Bulldog program.   

Finally, the Bill Scheible "In The Fold" Award is named in honor of the longtime FSU Gridiron Club president.  The award recognizes an individual who displays the program's four major attributes of faith, order, love and discipline. 

Please visit these links to read more about the namesakes of these awards:

Butch Jones
Bob Leach
Bill Scheible

Below are the 2012 recipients of these prestigious individual awards:

Butch Jones Coaches Award - Jaime Barrera
Bob Leach Leadership Award - Tayo Moss
Mr. Bulldog Award - Dwayne Williams
Bill Scheible "In The Fold" Award - Trevor Smolinski 

Below are the 2013 recipients of these prestigious individual awards:

Butch Jones Coaches Award - John Purdy & Jonathan Flynn
Bob Leach Leadership Award - Cam Howard
Mr. Bulldog Award - Samuel Parker
Bill Scheible "In The Fold" Award - Jace Heneveld

Please visit this link for a complete listing of 2013 team award winners:
2013 Awards Release

View: Mobile | Desktop