Football Recognizes 2011 Award Winners

Football Recognizes 2011 Award Winners

Big Rapids, Mich. - Ferris State University football senior offensive lineman Jake Hancock (Big Rapids) was recently honored as the Bulldogs' 2011 team Most Valuable Player Award recipient.

The award winners were announced at the program's season-ending awards banquet held last Sunday (Nov. 13) at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center in Big Rapids, Mich.

The Bulldog coaching staff presented the Most Valuable Offensive Skill Player honor to senior quarterback Tom Schneider (Jerome/Addison) for the second consecutive year with senior cornerback Antwian Windmon (Chicago/Morgan Park) claiming the Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player honor.  Senior receiver William Frazier (Redwood City, Calif./Palo Alto) was the recipient of FSU's Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Rookie laurels were earned by redshirt freshman running back Jamaal Jackson (St. Joseph) and redshirt freshman defensive tackle Garrett Woods (Caresco/Marshall), respectively. Meanwhile, sjunior linebacker Alex Brajak (Munster, Ind.) claimed Most Improved Defensive Player kudos while sophomore offensive guard Samuel Parker (Muskegon/Mona Shores) tallied the program's Most Improved Offensive Player Award.

FSU's Most Valuable Offensive Lineman for the 2011 campaign was junior left tackle Trevor Smolinski (Battle Creek/Marshall) with junior defensive end Jordan Morgan (Chicago, Ill./Mt. Carmel) being tabbed as the Most Valuable Defensive Lineman for the second-straight year.

The staff also recognized senior receiver Damien Miller (Elsie/Ovid-Elsie) on offense along with senior defensive tackle Muneer Bawayeh (Dearborn/Fordson) on defense and junior linebacker Zachary Rosman (Stanwood/Morley-Stanwood) on special teams as this year's Coaches Award honorees. The Bulldog Spirit Award was given to junior running back Dwayne Williams (Saginaw/Heritage) and senior defensive back Courtney Tipton (Flint/Carman-Ainsworth).

Junior linebacker Tayo Moss (South Rockwood/Monroe St. Mary's) and senior receiver Mike Ryan (Howell) both received the Rich Currie EPEP (Every Player, Every Play) Award for the defensive and offensive units, respectively.

Freshman defensive lineman Donovan Carter (Lansing/Everett) was this year's recipient of the Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year Award and the Bill and Lynne Scheible Scholarship Award for Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year Award went to freshman quarterback Jason Vander Laan (Frankfort, Ill./Chicago Christian).

Additionally, the Bulldogs recognized Morgan, Bawayeh, Schneider and Hancock for their roles in serving as team captains for the 2011 season.

2011 Team Award Winners:

Most Valuable Player - Jake Hancock
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman -  Trevor Smolinski
Most Valuable Defensive Lineman - Jordan Morgan
Most Valuable Offensive Skill Player - Tom Schneider
Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player - Antwian Windmon
Special Teams Player of the Year - Will Frazier
Coaches Award - Muneer Bawayeh (Defense), Damien Miller (Offense), Zachary Rosman (Special Teams)
Bulldog Spirit Award - Dwayne Williams (Offense), Courtney Tipton (Defense)
Most Improved Offensive Player - Samuel Parker
Most Improved Defensive Player - Alex Brajak
Outstanding Offensive Rookie - Jamaal Jackson
Outstanding Defensive Rookie - Garrett Woods
Rich Currie EPEP - Tayo Moss (Defense), Mike Ryan (Offense)
Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year - Donovan Carter
Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year - Jason Vander Laan
Team Captains - Bawayeh, Schneider, Hancock, Morgan