Former Bulldogs Inks With IFL's Omaha Beef

Big Rapids, Mich. - Former Ferris State University football player Chris Wilson (Hingsville, Ga.) recently inked a professional contract with the Indoor Football League's Omaha Beef.

The 6-7 receiver, who wrapped up his Bulldog football career last fall, was among the first 12 premier players to sign with the Beef for the 2012 campaign.

"These guys are exceptional football players that will help Omaha contend for the 2012 IFL Championship," said first-year head coach Bruce Cowdrey.  "They all have a good combination of speed, size and experience, but most of all they are playmakers."

The omaha Beer will embark on their 13th season of professional indoor football in 2012 and have compiled 12-straight winning seasons along with 12 consecutive playoff appearances.  They are among 22 teams from coast to coast in the Indoor Football League.

Wilson totaled 34 catches for 457 yards with three touchdowns during his final collegiate campaign with the Bulldogs in 2010.  He ranked as the team's second-leading receiver in yardage with 41.5 yards per game and was selected to compete in the All-American Bowl that showcased top players from across the country.

A two-time team player of the week honoree a year ago, Wilson wrapped up his career as a four-year letterwinner for the Bulldogs and totaled 56 catches for 698 yards and six scores in 34 collegiate contests from 2006-10.  He averaged 12.5 yards per catch over the course of his career.  Wilson was also tabbed as the team's Most Improved Offensive Player in 2010.

The veteran wideout graduated from FSU's Television and Digital Media Production program last year and was featured throughout his final campaign in the "Chasing The Dream" video series at

Besides Wilson, the Beef's other signees included receivers Thomas Harris, Freddie Parham, Judd Harrold and Juwan Jones; running back/ receiver Trevar Deed; defensive lineman Terrance Conner; defensive back and linebacker Andre Pope; quarterback Martevious Young; running back Justine Buries; cornerback Kwaheem Smith; and offensive lineman Leo Dicesaris.