Ferris Football Announces 2010 Team Awards

Ferris Football Announces 2010 Team Awards
FSU head coach Jeff Pierce presents senior Matt Ryan with his team MVP Award (Courtesy Photo)

Click Here For Team Banquet Photo Gallery

Big Rapids, Mich. - Ferris State University senior linebacker Matt Ryan (Howell) was recently honored as the Bulldogs' 2010 team Most Valuable Player Award recipient for the second consecutive campaign.

The award winners were announced at the program's season-ending awards banquet last Sunday (Nov. 14) at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center in Big Rapids, Mich.

Serving as the day's Master of Ceremonies was Pastor Mike Wissink, who serves as the team chaplain.

The Bulldog coaching staff presented the Most Valuable Offensive Skill Player honor to junior quarterback Tom Schneider (Jerome/Addison) with Ryan also claiming the Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player honor.  Senior receiver Matt Schuelke (Paris/Reed City) was the recipient of FSU's Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Rookie laurels were earned by redshirt freshman offensive tackle Trevor Smolinski (Battle Creek/Marshall) and junior cornerback William Miles (Stockton, Calif./Tokay), respectively. Meanwhile, sophomore linebacker Tayo Moss (South Rockwood/Monroe St. Mary's Catholic) claimed Most Improved Defensive Player kudos while senior receiver Chris Wilson (Hingsville, Ga./Long County) tallied the program's Most Improved Offensive Player Award.

FSU's Most Valuable Offensive Lineman for the 2010 campaign was junior center Jake Hancock (Big Rapids) with senior defensive tackle Jacob Moreno (Holt) being tabbed as the Most Valuable Defensive Lineman for the second-straight year.

The staff also recognized senior guard Joe Voiles (Flushing) on offense along with sophomore defensive tackle Jordan Morgan (Chicago, Ill./Mt. Carmel) on defense and junior receiver Damien Miller (Elsie/Ovid-Elsie) on special teams as this year's Coaches Award honorees. The Bulldog Spirit Award was given to junior receiver Mike Ryan (Howell).

Senior safety Chad Wilson (Howell) and senior guard Scott Shattuck (Lowell/Ionia) both received the Rich Currie EPEP (Every Player, Every Play) Award for the defensive and offensive units, respectively.

Freshman linebacker Austin Root (Plymouth/Salem) was this year's recipient of the Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year Award and the Bill and Lynne Scheible Scholarship Award for Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year Award went to freshman Cody Marks (Durand/Linden).

Additionally, the Bulldogs recognized Shattuck, Moreno, Schneider, Matt Ryan and Chad Wilson for their roles in serving as team captains for the 2010 season.

2010 Team Award Winners:

Most Valuable Player - Matt Ryan
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman -  Jake Hancock
Most Valuable Defensive Lineman - Jacob Moreno
Most Valuable Offensive Skill Player - Tom Schneider
Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player - Matt Ryan
Special Teams Player of the Year - Matt Schuelke
Coaches Award - Joe Voiles (Offense), Jordan Morgan (Defense), Damien Miller (Special Teams)
Bulldog Spirit Award - Mike Ryan (Offense)
Most Improved Offensive Player - Chris Wilson
Most Improved Defensive Player - Tayo Moss
Outstanding Offensive Rookie - Trevor Smolinski
Outstanding Defensive Rookie - William Miles
Rich Currie EPEP - Chad Wilson (Defense), Scott Shattuck (Offense)
Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year - Austin Root
Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year - Cody Marks
Team Captains - Moreno, Shattuck, Schneider, Chad Wilson, Matt Ryan

View: Mobile | Desktop