Seven FSU Football Players Honored By GLIAC

Matt Ryan (#44), Jordan Morgan (#14) and Nick Butler (#5) were among FSU's All-GLIAC honorees (Photo by Scott Whitney)
Matt Ryan (#44), Jordan Morgan (#14) and Nick Butler (#5) were among FSU's All-GLIAC honorees (Photo by Scott Whitney)

Click Here For All-GLIAC Release (PDF)

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University football team had a total of seven football players named to the 2009 All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Football Team in an announcement made Wednesday (Nov. 11) afternoon by the conference office.

Bulldog senior linebacker Matt Ryan (Howell) attained All-GLIAC Second Team kudos for the 2009 gridiron campaign while seven others attained honorable mention status, including four seniors. 

FSU's honorable mention selections included senior cornerback Angelo Williams (Jackson), senior middle linebacker Nick Butler (Midland), senior safety Santino Favot (South Lyon), senior offensive guard Joe Doman (Ann Arbor/Whitmore Lake), junior defensive tackle Jacob Moreno (Holt) and redshirt freshman defensive end Jordan Morgan (Chicago, Ill./Mt. Carmel).

The all-conference balloting was conducted by the league's head coaches via a teleconference and online voting process.

The 6-1 Ryan made the most of his first season as a starter as he led the Bulldogs in tackles with 124 stops this season, which also included 54 solo hits.  He placed third among the conference's leading tacklers (11.3 tpg.) and concluded the regular-season ranked tied for eighth nationally in Division II.

Besides finishing with 124 tackles, Ryan also added 4.5 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries, two pass breakups, a quarterback hurry and a forced fumble for the 2009 season.  He recorded 10 tackles or more in seven contests, including each of the final six outings of the year.  Ryan had a personal career-high 20 tackles at Wayne State (Oct. 17) and wrapped up the season with 18 stops last Saturday (Nov. 7) at Saginaw Valley State.

Among the honorable mention honorees, Williams led the Bulldogs with six pass breakups and made 39 stops this fall while Butler finished second on the squad and ninth in the league with 89 total tackles.  Doman was an 11-game starter at right guard as was Favot in the secondary where he compiled the squad's third-highest tackles figure (64) and intercepted a pass.

In his first season on the field, Morgan netted 60 tackles to finish fourth on the team and was Ferris' leader with four quarterback sacks for a loss of 11 yards.  He also forced three fumbles and had three QB hurries in addition to six tackles for loss.  Meanwhile, Moreno posted 49 stops with 6.5 for loss to go with a sack, an interception and a fumble recovery.

In addition to the all-conference teams, the league's annual postseason award winners were announced and included talented Wayne State running back Joique Bell as the league's Player of the Year.  Former FSU head coach and current Hillsdale head coach Keith Otterbein was tabbed as the league's Coach of the Year after leading the Chargers to their first-ever NCAA Division II Playoff appearance.

2009 Ferris State Football All-GLIAC Honorees:

Second Team Defense -- Matt Ryan (LB)
Honorable Mention -- Angelo Williams (DB), Nick Butler (LB), Jacob Moreno (DT), Jordan Morgan (DE), Santino Favot (DB), Joe Doman (OL)