Ferris State Notches Fourteen Top Ten Finishes At GLIAC Indoor Track Championships


Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University men's and women's indoor track and field squads wrapped up action on Sunday (Feb. 24) in the 2019 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Championships hosted by Saginaw Valley State in University Center, Mich.

Overall, Ferris State posted a total of 14 top-10 performances in the annual league meet.

The Bulldog women's team compiled 30 points in finishing seventh overall while the men's team took eighth place with eight points in the two-day event.

For the women's team, Bulldog junior Katie Etelamaki placed fourth in the 5,000 meters in a time of 17:33.88 overall while Hannah Loucks came in seventh (18:15.36) in the race. Etelamaki also finished sixth in the 3,000 meters (10:08.12).

FSU's Taylor Thrush took fourth place in the mile run and broke the five-minute mark with a time of 4:59.93 in the event.

Ferris State's Amanda Esinger tied for fourth place overall in the high jump (5-3) with a personal-best effort. Freshman Brianna Copley was fifth overall in the shot put (44-2).

The Bulldogs' distance medley relay squad of Jennifer Eaton, Hannah Todd, Carissa Schurr and Thrush placed third (12:08.96).

Schurr also placed eighth in the 800 meters (2:18.98) with Eaton right behind in ninth place (2:20.22).

The Bulldogs' tandem of Thrush, Schurr, Eaton and Todd also wound up ninth in the 4x400-meter relay (4:07.37).

On the men's side, Cody Stilwell led the Bulldogs with a fifth-place finish in the weight throw (63-6.25) and again topped the NCAA Division II National qualifying mark.

Ferris State's Brett Robertson reached the finals and finished seventh in the 60-meter hurdles (8.94). Stanley Williams was seventh in the long jump (22-2.25).

FSU senior Damien Halverson placed ninth in the 5,000 meters (14:56.96) and ran a personal-best.

The 2019 NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field Championships will take place March 8-9 in Pittsburg, Kan. The official list of national meet qualifiers and entries will be announced soon.