FSU Freshman Qualifies For NCAA-II Nationals

FSU Freshman Qualifies For NCAA-II Nationals

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University women's track and field program will be represented at the NCAA Division II National Indoor Championships as freshman Samantha Johnson (Troy) was among the final meet entries announced Tuesday (March 1).

Johnson will compete in the women's mile run at the national indoor championships, which will take place March 11-12 in Albuquerque, N.M.  The meet will be hosted by Adams State (Colo.) and held at the Convention Center in Albuquerque.

The Bulldog freshman holds the nation's 12th-fastest qualifying time (4:56.25) among the 14 competitors slated to compete in the event at the national meet.

This past weekend, Johnson placed fifth overall (5:01.27) in the event while reaching the national provisional qualification standard at the 2011 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Indoor Championships in University Center, Mich.  She was also part of Ferris' distance medley relay that placed third overall at the league championships.

For her efforts, she was recognized as the GLIAC's Freshman of the Year Award recipient by the league's member head coaches in conjunction with the conference indoor championships.

Johnson has tallied three top-five meet performances in the mile run this winter, including winning the event at the Division II Challenge (Feb. 5) in Findlay, Ohio.

Last fall, Johnson helped the nationally-ranked FSU women's cross country team to an eighth-place overall finish at the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championships (Dec. 4) in Louisville, Ky.  She came in 63rd overall (22:49.5) for FSU at the national meet. 

She also earned cross country all-region accolades by placing among the region's top 15 performers with an 11th-place finish (21:50.01) as Ferris State took runner-up honors in the 2010 NCAA-II Midwest Regional Championships (Nov. 20) at Louisville.

The preliminary round of the women's mile run is slated to begin at 6:20 p.m. (ET) on Friday, March 11, with the finals set for Saturday, March 15, at 6 p.m. (ET) in Albuquerque.