Women's Golf Captures Title At Tiffin Kyle Ryman Invitational

Women's Golf Captures Title At Tiffin Kyle Ryman Invitational
Blaize Baumgartner's team-best 162 score helped lead Ferris State to its first tournament title this season. (Photo by Ed Hyde)

The Ferris State University women's golf team captured its first tournament of the season with a first-place performance at the Tiffin Kyle Ryman Invitational (April 18-19) in Tiffin, Ohio.

The Bulldogs registered a 664 team score to place six strokes in front of runner-up Findlay (670) among the six teams competing on the Mohawk Golf Club Course.  Ferris State generated rounds of 333 and 331, respectively, to claim top team honors.

Sophomore Blaize Baumgartner (Perry) was FSU's top individual with a second-place 162-stroke total (85-83=168).  She finished five strokes behind tournament medalist Andrea Vogt of Findlay, who fired a 157 score.

Freshman Ashley Swanson (Flushing/Flint Powers Catholic Central) ended up in the top five as she shot a 167 (85-82=167) to place fourth.  Sophomore Brooke Rodes (Traverse City/West) turned in her highest finish of this season with a fifth-place tying performance as a result of carding a 168 (85-83=168).

The fourth Bulldog golfer to crack the top 10 was sophomore Bryce Hetchler (Clinton Township/Fraser), who ended up in 10th place by tallying a 171 score (87-84=171).  Sophomore Erin Fuchik (Tulsa, Okla./Bishop Kelley) was one of three individuals to earn a share of 12th place following a 173-stroke total (83-90=173). 

Competing in a non-scoring capacity were sophomore Breezy Bernth (Greenville) and freshman Amy Smith (Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore).  Bernth recored a 180 score (93-87=180) which was good for 16th place while Smith had a 26th-place tying 192 score (94-98=192).

The Bulldogs will host the 2010 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Women's Golf Championships this weekend (April 24-25) at FSU's Katke Golf Course in Big Rapids, Mich.  The 54-hole tournaments gets underway this Saturday (April 24) with an 8:30 a.m. (EDT) start on both the first and 10th-hole tees. 



View: Mobile | Desktop