Bulldog Softball Opens 2013 Campaign At Florida Rebel Spring Games

Bulldog Softball Opens 2013 Campaign At Florida Rebel Spring Games

Big Rapids, Mich. - The 2013 Ferris State University softball team will open its 41st season of intercollegiate competition in the Sunshine State as the Bulldogs participate in the annual Florida Rebel Spring Games Tournament from March 9-15 at Kissimmee, Fla.  

Ferris State will play 12 games in a seven-day period with the non-conference contests to be held between the Osceola County Softball Complex, Fortune Road Athletic Complex, and Oren Brown Park. 

The Bulldogs, who will be guided by first-year head coach Marie Foster, officially are slated to begin the 2013 season with two games on Saturday (March 9).  FSU faces Minnesota State in the first contest at 9 a.m. (ET) followed by a 11 a.m. (ET) matchup versus Wheeling Jesuit (W.Va.).

Ferris State returns 13 letterwinners and plenty of experience from last season's squad that posted a 31-24 overall record during the 2012 campaign. FSU won 15 of its final 21 contests en route to reaching the championship round of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Tournament and narrowly missing an NCAA Division II National Tournament bid.

The Bulldogs were picked to finish fourth overall of 14 schools in the 2013 GLIAC Preseason Coaches Poll, which was recently announced by the league office.

After taking part in the Florida Rebel Spring games, the Bulldogs return home and are slated to officially open league play on the road at Ashland on Saturday, March 23.  The home opener in Big Rapids is set for Friday, March 29, versus Lake Erie at 3:30 p.m. (ET).

Below is FSU's complete schedule for the Florida Rebel Spring Games:

Mar. 9 vs. Minnesota State, 9 a.m.
Mar. 9 vs. Wheeling Jesuit (W.Va.), 11 a.m.
Mar. 10 vs. Minnesota St. Moorhead, 3 p.m.
Mar. 10 vs. Caldwell, 5 p.m.
Mar. 11 vs. Minnesota St. Moorhead, 9 a.m.
Mar. 11 vs. St. Cloud State (Minn.), 11 a.m.
Mar. 13 vs. Lees-McRae (N.C.), 1 p.m.
Mar. 13 vs. Southern Indiana, 5 p.m.
Mar. 14 vs. Southwest Minnesota State, 1 p.m.
Mar. 14 vs. Illinois-Springfield, 5 p.m.
Mar. 15 vs. Tiffin, 3 p.m.
Mar. 15 vs. Southwest Minnesota State, 5 p.m.