MichiganCollegeHockey.com Salutes Two Ferris State Skaters

MichiganCollegeHockey.com Salutes Two Ferris State Skaters

*2010-11 MichiganCollegeHockey.com Award Winners Release* - (PDF)Get Acrobat Reader

Ferris State University's Pat Nagle (Bloomfield) and Zach Redmond (Traverse City) continue to reap the rewards of their productive senior seasons as the two have been named to the 2010-11 All-MichiganCollegeHockey.com (MiCHO) Second Team.  The announcement of this season's award recipients was made this Tuesday (April 12) by the MiCHO staff.

Nagle's selection to the MiCHO team represents his first while Redmond claimed second-team recognition for the third consecutive season (2008-09, 2009-10, and 2010-11).  Six student-athletes apiece comprised the first, second, and all-rookie teams.

A 2010-11 American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) All-America First-Team pick, Nagle posted an 18-14-5 record between the posts this season with a 2.02 goals-against average and a .923 saves percentage as a 37-game starter.  Nagle, an All-Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) First-Team and Ferris State's Most Valuable Player Award recipient this 2010-11 campaign, was a finalist for the 2010-11 RBC CCHA Player of the Year Award.  The 2010-11 Hobey Baker Memorial Award candidate claimed CCHA Goaltender of the Week accolades once this campaign (Nov. 8) and also earned  Inside College Hockey.com First-Half All-CCHA Team plaudits this season.  Last season, Nagle received votes in MiCHO's award winners selection process.

Redmond, a 2010-11 AHCA All-America Second-Team honoree, placed second in team scoring with 20 points on a career season-high seven goals and 13 assists in 26 outings this campaign.  The 2010-11 first-team All-CCHA skater paced all Bulldog defensemen in points, goals, and assists this season along with recording five multiple-point game performances.  The 2010-11 FSU team captain garnered CCHA Defenseman of the Week recognition this season (Jan. 10) and claimed Inside College Hockey.com First-Half All-CCHA Team kudos.  

Following their respective Ferris State careers, Nagle signed with the National Hockey League's (NHL) Tampa Bay Lightning while Redmond inked a deal with the Atlanta Trashers, who drafted him in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.       

Michigan earned three of the five major MiCHO awards as Carl Hagelin was named Player of the Year while Shawn Hunwick was tabbed Goaltender of the Year.  The Rookie of the Year honor went to Jon Merrill.  Michigan State's Torey Krug was tabbed as the Defenseman of the Year and Jeff Blashill of Western Michigan received Coach of the Year recognition by MiCHO.  

MichiganCollegeHockey.com was started in 2000 and has been a primary source for college hockey fans in the state of Michigan for all the latest news and scores relating to all college teams in the state, including coverage of the state's lone NCAA Division I women's team at Wayne State University, ACHA teams and NCAA Division III teams. 

The MiCHO award winners were selected from the state's seven NCAA Division I teams - Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan, Michigan State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, and Western Michigan.