Eighteen Ferris State Football Standouts Garner All-GLIAC Honors & Bulldogs Bring Home Two Major Awards


Click Here For All-GLIAC Release

Big Rapids, Mich. - A total of 18 Ferris State University football players received All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) recognition and the Bulldogs brought home two major awards as the league unveiled its 2017 all-conference teams today.

In the all-conference voting conducted by the league's head coaches, Ferris State junior defensive end Zach Sieler (Pickney) claimed the league's "Defensive Lineman of the Year" honor for the second consecutive campaign. In addition, senior cornerback Tavierre Thomas (Detroit/Allen) was tabbed as the GLIAC's "Defensive Back Of The Year".

Overall, Ferris State placed seven student-athletes on the All-GLIAC First Team with five others earning All-GLIAC Second Team status and six attaining honorable mention recognition.

On the All-GLIAC First Team, Ferris State was represented by junior offensive tackle Devon Johnson (Aurora, Ill./Waubonsie Valley), junior receiver Malik Taylor (Montrose/Hill-McCloy) and junior offensive guard Nic Sawyer (Ann Arbor/Saline). They were joined on the defensive side by Sieler along with Thomas, senior defensive tackle Chris Okoye (Novi/Detroit Catholic Central) and senior linebacker Terrell Porter (Detroit/Berkley).

FSU's five second-team selections included junior wideout Kenyondre Craig (Muskegon), senior center Jake Daugherty (Big Rapids), senior cornerback Jevonte Alexander (Flusing/Carman-Ainsworth), senior defensive back Jaleel Canty (Lansing/Waverly) and senior kicker Wyatt Ford (Montague).

Finally, the list of Bulldog honorable mention all-league choices consisted of senior tailback Jahaan Brown (East Grand Rapids), senior defensive ends Dylan Roney (Plymouth/Detroit Catholic Central) and Marquis Dawsey (Bradenton, Fla./Manatee), senior defensive backs KC Zenner (Rockford) and Kenny James (Colombia, Mo./Rock Bridge) and senior linebacker Nick Huckabay (Montrose/Hill-McCloy).

Ferris State received the school's fourth consecutive NCAA Playoff berth and will host Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) in the first round this Saturday, Nov. 18, at FSU's Top Taggart Field. Kickoff is set for 12 p.m. (ET).

Tickets are on sale now and can be purchased online at StarTickets.com, by calling 1-800-585-3737 or in person thru the FSU Athletics Ticket Office. Call (231) 591-2888 for more details or visit FerrisStateBulldogs.com.


First Team Offense - Devon Johnson (OT), Malik Taylor (WR), Nic Sawyer (G)
First Team Defense - Zach Sieler (DE), Tavierre Thomas (CB), Chris Okoye (DT), Terrell Porter (LB)
Second Team Offense - Keyondre Craig (WR), Jake Daugherty (C)
Second Team Defense - Jevonte Alexander (DB), Jaleel Canty (DB)
Second Team Special Teams - Wyatt Ford (K)
Honorable Mention - Jahaan Brown (RB), Dylan Roney (DE), Marquis Dawsey (DE), KC Zenner (DB), Kenny James (DB), Nick Huckabay (LB)