Ferris State Football Earns Fourth-Straight NCAA Playoff Bid & Will Host First-Round Game

NCAA Playoffs

Click Here For Selection Show

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University football team has officially received the school's fourth consecutive NCAA Division II Playoff appearance as the Bulldogs were tabbed as the number four seed in Super Region Three during the official NCAA Selection Show on Sunday evening.

As the number four seed, FSU will host a first-round playoff game this coming Saturday, Nov. 18, against fifth-seeded Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) at Top Taggart Field. Kickoff will be at 12 p.m. (ET).

Ticket information will be announced soon. Stay tuned to FerrisStateBulldogs.com for additional information.

The number one seed in the region was given to Fort Hays State, which received the region's first-round bye. The other two first-round matchups include third-seeded Ashland hosting sixth-seeded Northwest Missouri State along with second-seeded Indianapolis playing host to seventh-seeded Harding (Ark.).

A total of 28 teams from the four super regions received NCAA Playoff berths.

Ferris State's berth in the NCAA Division II Playoffs will represent the ninth appearance in school history with the other five berths prior to the last four years all coming during a memorable five-year stretch from 1992-96.

Overall, the Bulldogs hold an all-time NCAA Playoff mark of 9-8 to date and matched the highest finish in school history by reaching the national semifinals a year ago.

Ferris State has won its last seven games in a row and is coming off a decisive 49-7 league road victory over Michigan Tech in the regular-season finale Saturday at Sherman Field in Houghton.

FSU will enter the playoffs with a 9-1 record and face a Ouachita Baptist team that owns a 9-2 overall record.

The NCAA Division II Football Committee announced the field of 28 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division II Football Championship. Twelve first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing institutions. In addition, one team per super regional has earned a first-round bye.

The first-round winners will all advance to the second round with games on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Second-round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites. Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Seven teams selected per super regional make up the field of 28 teams.

The championship game will be played December 16, at Children's Mercy Park in Kansas City.

Stay tuned for additional postseason & ticket information!